Every Album by You Me At Six Ranked From Worst to Best

From small pop-punk band to worldwide rock stars, the career of British rockers You Me At Six has certainly been a wild ride for the band themselves and the fans. They’ve created many records and the styles of their albums have definitely been diverse. From the fantastic, to the good, to the mediocre, their discography has certainly been through some ups and downs. And with the release of their sixth studio album “VI” last October, this seems like the best time to take all of You Me At Six’s albums and rank them from worst to best. Please note that this is obviously my own opinion and taste, and not based off of any statistics or sales.

6. VI [2018]

The band’s most recent effort is the biggest jump they’ve done stylistically, featuring a whole new sound with a much more poppy, hip-hop vibe. The sound clearly gathers influences from other artists like The Weeknd and Two Door Cinema Club, by incorporating a lighter feel, however holds on to the rock elements that define the group. From the hard-hitting rock intro “Fast Forward,” to the light and breezy “Back Again,” this album proves the group reclaimed the creativity that they felt they had lost on their previous record.

Track List

  • Fast Forward
  • Straight to My Head
  • Back Again
  • Miracle In The Mourning
  • 3AM
  • I O U
  • Pray For Me
  • Predictable
  • Danger
  • Losing You

Best Tracks: Straight to My Head, Back Again, I O U

5. Night People [2017]

Despite “VI” being musically and creatively a better album, I personally have more fun whilst listening to “Night People.” Some of the songs on this album are arguably the band’s weakest, however the tracks that work well are fantastically put together rock songs that drive home the feel of the record. The album opens with a bang, with the title track “Night People” featuring a catchy riff and a beat that hits hard, throwing you into the record. You have the more mainstream friendly tracks with catchy choruses like “Heavy Soul” and “Brand New,” and the more traditional rock songs that pump you up like “Plus One” and “Spell It Out.” Overall a decent effort from the group, but not all of the ideas worked out in the final product.

Track List

  • Night People
  • Plus One
  • Heavy Soul
  • Take On The World
  • Brand New
  • Swear
  • Make Your Move
  • Can’t Hold Back
  • Spell It Out
  • Give

Best Tracks: Take On the World, Spell It Out, Give

4. Cavalier Youth [2014]

Coincidentally the bottom three albums on this list are the 3 most recent releases from the group. However, this is the point in the list where I start to recommend them. “Cavalier Youth” is the perfect blend of pop and rock fused together to create something really special. The album includes unique and well written riffs, upbeat drum parts, and catchy choruses that beg to be sang along to. Many of the songs like “Cold Night” and “Wild Ones” feature chanting sections which strongly add to the enjoyability of the tracks. The entire album uses themes of youth and feeling free in it’s songs, and with the upbeat poppy music to match, the record really is a treat on the ears.

Track List

  • Too Young to Feel This Old
  • Lived a Lie
  • Fresh Start Fever
  • Forgive and Forget
  • Room to Breathe
  • Win Some, Lose Some
  • Cold Night
  • Hope for the Best
  • Love Me Like You Used To
  • Be Who You Are
  • Carpe Diem
  • Wild Ones

Best Tracks: Room to Breathe, Cold Night, Carpe Diem

3. Take Off Your Colours [2008]

The band’s debut “Take Off Your Colours” is certainly their most raw album to date. The record is a solid collection of upbeat pop-punk songs that are guaranteed to get your foot tapping or your head bobbing. Whilst many of the songs on the album sound a little “overdone,” they still stay interesting enough to keep you hooked. From the heart-racing, power chord driven “Save It For The Bedroom,” to the more relaxed acoustic based “Always Attract,” the album has no problem keeping you engaged from start to finish. If you’re lucky enough to live in the UK and own the CD, your copy of the album will likely have a bonus disc with five extra songs. Ironically I find that some of these songs to be some of the best on the album. Overall, a great effort from the group, and some of the best pop-punk tracks out there.

Track List

  • The Truth Is a Terrible Thing
  • Gossip
  • Call That a Comeback
  • Jealous Minds Think Alike
  • Save It For The Bedroom
  • Take Off Your Colours
  • You’ve Made Your Bed (So Sleep In It)
  • If You Run
  • Tigers and Sharks
  • If I Were In Your Shoes
  • Always Attract
  • Nasty Habits
  • The Rumour
  • Kiss and Tell
  • Finders Keepers
  • Sweet Feet
  • All Your Fault
  • Blue Eyes Don’t Lie

Best Tracks: Save It For The Bedroom, Always Attract, Finders Keepers

2. Sinners Never Sleep [2011]

The group’s third studio album “Sinners Never Sleep” took on a heavier sound than their first two releases. Tracks like “Loverboy” and “Reckless” feature heavy riffs to bring the song together instead of the use of simplistic power chord driven numbers, like they’ve created in the past. There are still light and easy-listening tracks like “No One Does It Better” and “Crash,” but these aren’t the basic, simple songs of the band’s past. They really matured their sound on this record and became a lot more creative with their instrumentation. The album gets its heaviest on the songs “Time Is Money” and “Bite My Tongue,” which features screaming elements. Despite myself not being that much of a fan of that style, the musicianship definitely more than makes up for it. A fantastic album with heavy and hard-hitting tracks that make for a great time when driving .

Track List

  • Loverboy
  • Jaws On The Floor
  • Bite My Tongue (feat. Oli Sykes)
  • This Is The First Thing
  • No One Does It Better
  • Little Death
  • Crash
  • Reckless
  • Time Is Money (feat. Winston McCall)
  • Little Bit of Truth
  • The Dilemma
  • When We Were Younger

Best Tracks: Loverboy, No One Does It Better, The Dilemma

1. Hold Me Down [2010]

My number one pick, “Hold Me Down” is by far the most most consistent record in my opinion. From its opening track “The Consequence” to the finale “Fireworks,” it’s a pure joy to experience. While they had not yet progressed to the more mature and intricate style of their later albums, they had clearly moved on from the “emo” pop-punk phase of “Take Off Your Colours.” This album is just pure fun from the catchy upbeat tracks like “Safer to Hate Her,” “Stay With Me” and “Underdog” to the heavier but still easy to sing along to gems “Trophy Eyes” and “The Consequence.” The theme of the album is bitter break-ups and how deal with toxic relationships, but still keep it light with punchy hooks and great production. If somebody were to ask me which You Me At Six album I recommend for a first-time listener, this would definitely be it.

Track List

  • The Consequence
  • Underdog
  • Playing The Blame Game
  • Stay With Me
  • Safer To Hate Her
  • Take Your Breath Away
  • Liquid Confidence
  • Hard To Swallow
  • Contagious Chemistry
  • There’s No Such Thing As Accidental Infidelity
  • Trophy Eyes
  • Fireworks

Best Tracks: Liquid Confidence, Contagious Chemistry, There’s No Such Thing As Accidental Infidelity

Listen to You Me At Six Here





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s